h1

I Have a Family Here on Earth

May 14, 2007

by Carrie Ann

Mormons believe that families are ordained of God. Which is to say that God likes families. God’s ideal family would be a mother and a father joined in marriage with kids to follow. The important thing here is that bringing life into this world should be a partnership between parents and God himself. God has created the spirits, and we create the bodies. God trusts us to take care of those children; to love them, protect them, and teach them as if he were here to do it Himself. He gives US the opportunity to be parental.

Families can bring us a lot of joy. Families can bring us a lot of pain. You don’t get to choose your family. You can choose your friends, your spouse, your job, your hobbies, your home, your laundry detergent, but you can’t choose your mother, your father, your siblings, or your kids.

Much could be said on how we get stuck with those we get stuck with, but it would be speculation. We don’t know, doctrinally speaking, how we get whom we get (I’ve always liked Garrison Keillor’s “gumball theory”… whenever your parents put in the quarter, whoever was next came down the shoot … you could have ended up in Africa or Iceland), but I tend to think that there is some sort of order, our God being a God of order.

A family can come in all shapes and sizes. It would be nice if all families had a two loving and supportive parents. It would be nice if all kids came into the world at the expected time. It would be nice if kids loved and took care of their parents. But it doesn’t always happen like that. Life is imperfect, and sometimes families are, too. What matters is that there is love in the family, a sense of loyalty, security, togetherness, teamwork, unselfishness, and the list could go on.

Personally, I care less about gender, sexual orientation, relationship, race, religion, and economic status that I do about people living together in love and harmony with a desire to teach ethical and moral behavior. I know how God wants families to be, and I know that I will follow the dictates of my heart and personal testimony when it comes to my own family, but I am supportive of “unconventional” families when the underlying motivation is pure. I have a hard time thinking that God is not grateful when his precious spirits are being taken care of by loving hands and hearts.

And when it comes to my own family, meaning my parents and siblings … I feel that I could not have been sent to a better family. We’ve had our up’s and down’s (we certainly might not have chosen each other), but we love each other deeply. We grew up having a lot of fun together. Having moved around the country so much we had to rely on each other a lot for support as well as friendship. Our parents have taught us and loved us and endured us through it all, and have set a great example of a partnership based on love and respect.

Time marches on, and as we get older, we are getting more spread out. I just left Houston, TX where two of my sisters have been living. They are both moving away, and as I said good-bye yesterday, I held back tears all after noon and evening. I hate living so far away. I am SO grateful that I live near my parents and two of my siblings, but I am always greedy for more.

My former boss, the larger-than-life former president of LoveSac Corp. had a dreamy childhood. His grandfather built houses for all of his children on the same property. It was a huge property so essentially it was an entire development of aunts, uncles, and cousins. Ideal for some, but not entirely realistic.

I am hoping heaven is a little like that. We say that families are forever. This gets me through the times when we live $500 plane tickets apart. But I hope that my parents and my sisters and my brothers and my nieces and my nephews will somehow all be my neighbors so that we can look forward to an eternity of family dinners and late-night flashlight tag.

4 comments

  1. that is a nice sentiment that you expressed there, CA. Thank you so much for your thoughts. Earthly cares may separate us from our families but maybe in Heaven we’ll get to live together side by side.


  2. And don’t forget that the family that prays together stays together — it’s true because it rhymes


  3. I like your picture of heaven. Having my family that close would be just that: heaven. 🙂


  4. What’s up i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere, when i read this paragraph i thought i could
    also create comment due to this sensible article.



Leave a Reply

