h1

I Almost Wrote About Jacob Marley

June 7, 2007

I don’t really know if I believe in ghosts.  I guess I do have some sort of belief in spirits (good or bad) around us, but for some reason I have a hard time convincing myself that the ghosts are the same as spirits.  (Is that redundant?) Perhaps my skepisism is largely due to the Hollywood, movie version of ghosts that always seem to be portrayed.  But you know what?  Their version is a lot more fun than mine…so here are a few of my favorite Hollywood Inspired Ghost Movies:

Ghost Busters
Could I start with anything else?  These ghosts are just fun…and not at all scary.  Unless, of course, you are six-year-old-me seeing it for the first time because my cousins thought it would be funny.  Oh, I got over it, don’t you worry…yet for some reason I still have a hard time eating marshmallows.

Meet Joe Black
I don’t know if the Grim Reaper would be considered a ghost, but when he’s played by Brad Pitt I can throw it in here for honorable mention.  Grim has never been so charming…or looked so good in a tux.  Yum. 

Watcher in the Woods
Just because a movie has a Disney label, doesn’t mean it can’t scare the snot out of you.  A very strange movie about two sisters haunted in different ways by a teenage girl that disappeared years before.  Bette Davis plays the mother of the missing teenage girl.  And somehow, whenever I hear the song “Bette Davis Eyes” I manage to think about the crazy-scary Bette Davis from this movie.  Eeek.  This movie scared me away from séances, standing in a room full of mirrors blindfolded and from solar eclipses.  Oh. And also writing backwards on mirrors or windows.

Sixth Sense
Now, this is a movie I only needed to see once.  For the record, I have seen it three times, and the third time frightened me just as much as the first and I really don’t know why I put myself through it again…and again.  For whatever reason – it really creeps me out.  I blame it mostly on the scary (and skinny) Donny Wahlberg character that sneaks into their house.  But c’mon…you know your heart jumps when you think of the dead bicyclist looking in the car window at the end of the movie.  Don’t deny it.

Alright, that’s all the time we have for today, folks.  I hope you’ve enjoyed our romp through a few ghostly movies that I have (sort of) enjoyed.  Sure, they don’t help me decide (or prove) whether or not I believe in ghosts…but you now know what a big chicken I really am when it comes to movies.

2 comments

  1. nerak….NERAAAK!… ‘nough said.


  2. oh, that’s funny…
    and is it weird that it still kinda creeps me out? LOL



Leave a Reply

