h1

Can You Put a Price on Forever?

June 20, 2007

by melbo

 If you’d asked me yesterday “Is it worth it to believe in God?” I would have probably answered you with a resounding “Of course it’s worth it! God has blessed me with so much. Aren’t the reasons obvious?”

Now let’s say you forced me to defend my response further. “Actually no, Melbo,” you press. “It’s not. Can you prove your life is good because of God?”

“Uhhh… maybe?”  

Okay, I admit it. Sometimes I surprise myself and immediately answer hard questions with the standard seminary answers I’ve been conditioned to say since I was in primary. That’s why this blogging deal has turned out to be a testimony builder. It puts me to work defending myself.

The question of whether it’s “worth” it to believe in God boils down to how one would define “worth.” I think a thing is only worth what you’re willing to pay for it. If you barter down the price of a car, you clearly don’t feel that car is worth the sticker price. If the salesman gives, he would seem to feel the same. But often how much you put into something determines how much it ends up being worth. Think of the Olympic athlete who trains hour upon hour to hone his skill. Clearly, he feels the chance to perform at a near perfect level is worth the blood, sweat, and tears he’s invested.

How much are we willing to pay for a belief in God? For starters, if we believe in God we should probably check in with the Guy from time to time for some heart-to-hearts. It might also be in our interest to read the books He’s left for us and follow His instructions (think Ten Commandments). If we believe in God and don’t do these things, how much do we really think our belief in Him is worth? If we’re cutting corners in our devotion to the Lord while still desiring blessings (i.e. help with family, health or financial woes), are we placing less value on our relationship with him? Are we haggling for a better deal?

I guess it’s relatively easy to believe in God, especially in the U.S., where the majority of the population believes in Him and it’s not only accepted but ex-pected for one to praise His name for helping you win a Grammy or the Superbowl. One thing Stephen E. Robinson taught me, though, is that as opposed to believing in God, it’s much more difficult to believe God (or Christ). It takes a lot of work to remain devout in this world and it gets even harder to believe when things get tough.

So how much blood, sweat, and tears have I invested into my own belief in God? Considering the return I’ve received so far… not nearly enough. I’ve admittedly been an erratic seeker in my quest for the truth and my testimony grows in spurts, in between which I take much for granted. I constantly find myself ‘cutting corners.’ I say this because I have trouble keeping up with the little things, the ‘standard seminary answers.’ I don’t read my scriptures or pray regularly, and when I do, I’m often too exhausted to make it worth my breath. (I do put up my A-game is some areas, though. I challenge anyone to serve up morality, tithing and the Word of Wisdom and I’ll dominate Wimbledon.) Yet I’m blessed with a loving network of family and friends, and a great job and home. I don’t even have a calling at church to tie me down (gotta love stress-free Sunday mornings)! But all kidding aside, when you’ve got a great portfolio like mine, you sure have a lot to lose. I’ve hit a plateau recently, and unless I invest more energy towards my faith, I fear my assets will suffer – namely my family and our future. I know I owe it to my husband and child to invite the spirit into our home. As I submit to the guidance of the Holy Ghost I will be able to make righteous choices and be a rock when times get tough. It’s those little things that will keep my family strong, and will secure our future together. So is it worth it to believe in God? You bet. For all He’s offered me, my belief in God will leave me forever in debt. I think I’m getting a deal.

2 comments

  1. Thank you for expounding on the “worth” part. Your version is much more eloquent and sensible than my snarky version. I had a hard time with this question but you handled it nicely and honestly.


  2. Thank you Carrie Ann, but I quite liked your version. It actually took me a long time to come up with a different angle (one of the advantages of not going first 🙂



Leave a Reply

