h1

I Need a Spiritual Gift Card

August 20, 2007

This week’s topic: Spiritual Gifts

by carrie ann

I think the concept of spiritual gifts is beautiful. I like to think about it. We have each been given certain spiritual gifts as a natural consequence of being God’s creations, and all spiritual gifts are his to give. Everything we are capable of comes from his vast imagination. If he can’t imagine it, we can’t do it. He is the master of all talents and abilities. (This blew the mind of the three 11 year-olds we substituted for the other week in Sunday school. They had no idea that God could beat any video game ever made, or that he would be the most amazing baseball player, because he “invented” baseball AND video games.)

Some gifts we are born with, but others we must seek out. I think most of us don’t even realize what our gifts might be, or how we can master them. We learn from Moroni 10 and Doctrine and Covenants 46 that gifts are magnified according to obedience and adherence to Gospel principles. Apparently, we can ask for and work for spiritual gifts we want but don’t naturally have.

There is a certain spiritual gift that I have been “wishing” for as of late, but as I ponder the desire for it I wonder where the line is drawn between seeking spiritual gifts (for which we are encouraged to seek for “with all our hearts”) and sign-seeking (for only “a wicked and adulterous generation seekth for a sign”). Oh, maybe that’s the difference: in my case am I seeking this spiritual gift as a sign for personal direction, not as an indication that the Gospel of Christ is true. I’m not asking a prophet of god to demonstrate his power and authority (like poor Korihor).

Who knows… There was this kid in my high school that was somewhat of a piano prodigy. As I was remarking to one friend on his amazing talent he replied, “Well, you’d play that well too if you practiced 5 hours a day.” So as I sit here contemplating the spiritual gifts I have and the spiritual gifts I want it comes down to this: do I use what I have, am I deserving of what I want, am I willing to work hard to get it? Are spiritual gifts any different than the physical ones?

2 comments

  1. It has been a while since I’ve been here. Hello, everyone!

    Spiritual gifts: now that is a gospel principle I can really get behind.


  2. Carrie Ann, I always enjoy reading your posts. And I almost always agree with the points you make. This week, your opinion and mine deviate. You probably didn’t mean it this way, but your post is offensive to smart and hardworking people who invent things like baseball and video games. You minimize their achievements by saying that, no, they didn’t actually do it–God did.

    I think your high school friend had a better grasp of that than you do. It’s one thing to give credit to God for your own accomplishments. It’s another thing entirely to take away the accomplishments of others (who may not even have your same belief in spiritual gifts) by assigning God the credit.

    I know it’s rare on this blog to have a dissenting opinion, or at least to share it, so I apologize if speaking my mind makes anyone uncomfortable. I hope I don’t come across as rude.



Leave a Reply

