h1

My 2nd Favorite Mormon

September 25, 2007

My favorite Mormon is my husband. But I’ve written about him before, here and elsewhere, so instead of writing about my favorite Mormon, I’m going to write about my 2nd favorite: Donny Osmond.

Yup, nothing spiritual about my choice. I liked Donny when I was twelve and he was fourteen. I had his picture on my wall. He had the most amazing teeth.

Donny Singles album cover

I outgrew Donny quickly (probably too quickly – I grew up too fast.) I occasionally heard rumblings about his career over the next 30 years. I liked the song Soldier of Love. I never saw him in Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, but I think I would have liked to see him in his loincloth 🙂

I’m impressed by how much fun he seems to have playing off his squeaky-clean image in some of his gigs. I enjoyed him and Marie in the Pepsi Twist commercial with the Osbournes. I loved his guest episode on the BBC show The Kumars at No. 42. His cameo in White and Nerdy is awesome. The short with Jimmy Kimmel “Donny’s Dreams Come True” was really, really funny until the last 30 seconds (though everybody I’ve talked to seems to think that was the best part. Ouch.)

Two months shy of his 50th birthday, Donny Osmond is my 2nd favorite Mormon because he’s really, really hot.

One comment

  1. Donny has multi-generational appeal – My mom liked him when he was first out, I had that Soldier of Love / Secret Emotion tape (that’s how long ago it was – I had a TAPE) back when it came out, and I thought it was awesome. Now my kids love to watch the movie he made of the Joseph play. They know a lot of it by heart. He’s just a likeable guy.



Leave a Reply

