h1

My Husband Won’t Let Me Watch “Little House on the Prairie”: is This Unrighteous Dominion?

October 22, 2007

This week’s topic: Amen to the priesthood of that man…

by carrie ann

I don’t have a lot of experience with this topic.  It seems that in my younger years this was more of a concern. Maybe it was during a time when young priesthood holders were exercising their fledgling authority in young single adult capacities. Maybe I am thinking of my mission. Yes, I am definitely thinking of my mission.

I was lucky, for the most part. I loved most of the elders I served with (loved to be interpreted as tolerated with good humor). Occasionally, I would feel a tug at my pride. As a sister missionary, you occasionally feel somewhat powerless. It is frustrating to not be able to ever be in a position of leadership, unlike being able to serve at home. I often had to hold my pride in check as I felt critical of how some district/zone/AP leaders, tried to motivate, cajole, or bully me into doing things.

Remember last week when I shared that I have the gift of acceptance of council as long as it is rightfully exercised? There were incidents that were marked by unhappiness or contention. Sometimes the council was not rightfully exercised and I knew it. It was a learning experience for me too: to learn to distinguish resistance because of pride or a mild case of unrighteous dominion.

Remember the “Greatest American Hero”?

(Believe it or not, I’m walking on air.
I never thought I could feel so free-ee-ee…
Flying away on a wing and a prayer.
Who could it be?
Believe it or not, it’s just me!)

Good theme song, but I digress…Remember how he didn’t have great control over his superhero powers? He came on a little strong sometimes? And sometimes it wasn’t strong enough? Perhaps learning how to serve others with the priesthood is like that FOR SOME PEOPLE. Not everyone.

That’s why we have Doctrine & Covenants 121, because the Lord saw all these fledgling priesthood holders exercising “authority” without recent precedent, without contemporary example. Give some people a little power and they go crazy (Relief Society Presidents included), they can’t help it. But we have guidelines to help keep that in check; to help people understand what the priesthood is for and how it is to be used.

Since my mission, I have had the great fortune to serve with some choice, mature, experienced leaders. I have a wonderful husband who knows when to lead the family and when to support his wife in her need to “be in charge”. The only chink in his armor is knowing when to relinquish the remote control.

Leave a Reply

