h1

I’m an Idiot no matter how smart my SAT says I am

November 11, 2007

I know that it is technically Sunday, but as far as I am concerned the Sabbath does not begin until I go to bed and wake up with minutes to spare before being Church starts.

I am a person that struggles with depression who happens to be Mormon. I believe that many of these disorders that fall under the umbrella of mental illnesses are organic in nature and should be looked at in terms of a chronic disorder not unlike diabetes. I believe that once society embraces this attitude the situation for everyone who deals with these often debilitating problems will get much better.

Perhaps the best book that gave me the greatest insight into understanding humanity is ironically not one that I have ever read but listened to on tape. It was not a classic work of literature nor did the author’s words rival those of any scholar or philosopher ancient or modern. This author in one sentence described the human condition perfectly. These words of wisdom are as follows:

WE ARE ALL IDIOTS!!!!!!!

In case you really want to know, this profound wisdom was either written or plagiarized by none other Scott Adams, the same Scott Adams who is responsible for the Dilbert comic strip.

Once I realized how profound this short statement was it became a guiding start that has not led me astray and has helped me deal with the often-messy situations I find in and out of the Church.

We are all idiots because, according to Adams, we engage in idiotic behavior and by the very nature of the principle, those who engage in idiotic behavior are idiots. It’s okay. Adams goes on to say that we are not idiots all the time, just maybe for a few minutes every few days.

So the next time someone ultra-conservative says something really weird at Church, or when I lose my temper at work, or any other conceivable act of idiocy is committed it is best to keep in mind that that person is taking advantage of their idiot time. Something we will all need and something that we should allow for others.

Instead of holding ourselves to unrealistic standards of perfection and grappling with the disappointment that will inevitably ensue, maybe if we all lowered our standards of what we expect from ourselves and others, we would be much happier, and much of the depression, of the non-Chronic type, would diminish significantly. According to the afore mentioned life changing statement, what else can we expect?

Maybe I’m right. Maybe I’m not. Maybe I am oversimplifying the issue. Or maybe I am being an idiot. I’ll let you be the judge while I go make a sandwich because no matter how much Chinese food you eat at the buffet, you will be hungry exactly three and one half hours later.

Chris

One comment

  1. If we all realized this great truth, life indeed would be so much easier. Thanks, Chris.



Leave a Reply

