h1

A Resolution Kept

January 1, 2008

by BiV

Many years ago, when I was newly married, we attended a student ward at BYU.  One Sunday I met a girl from Brazil who had just moved to Provo.  I was friendly to her, but because of the language barrier, I couldn’t speak with her very long without running out of things to say.  A few weeks after she began attending the ward, I had a strong urge to pick up the phone and call her.  I didn’t do it because I knew it would be completely awkward.  What would I say to her?  How would we communicate?  I had the same feelings a few more times in the coming weeks, but I ignored them.  Things were busy at BYU, I had a part-time job, I was pregnant, and working steadfastly on my callings.  At the end of the semester, the Brazilian girl bore her testimony in her broken English, which had much improved in just a few months.  She cried, said she was leaving the ward and Provo, and that in all the months she had been in the ward she had not made one friend.  As she said these words a sharp pain came into my heart and I realized that I had been prompted to befriend her and had rejected these small whisperings from the Holy Ghost. 

At that moment I resolved never to ignore a prompting to pick up the phone and call someone.  I haven’t had very many (what I can identify as) promptings in my life, but whenever I feel that I should make contact with someone, I have tried not to rationalize it or overanalyze whether it comes from God or not–and just pick up the phone.

And this is a resolution I’ve succeeded with so much better than that 10 pounds I try to lose every January.

One comment

  1. Thanks for this post!



Leave a Reply

